Meet Emily

Fitzgerald_150523-0472-1
While Emily is incredibly smart for her age, I thought asking her at 2 years old, to write her own post might be pushing it a bit.
Emily is our youngest child. She is super smart and a little ball of energy.
Unlike her older brother and sister, Emily was born at home in a pool of warm water. An amazing experience. 3 wonderful midwives and my husband, cousin as my amazing doula, and yes, the dog by my side. Caleb and Abigail were able to meet her just minutes after her arrival into this world. We made this decision after 2 stressful and negative hospital experiences with our first 2 and were so happy we did.
 At 16 months old Emily was diagnosed with lead poisoning and a severe peanut allergy. With 1 phone call our already shaky world was turned completely upside down.
We are still in the discovery stages of the effects the lead has had on her as well as any effects the recent discovery of mold toxicity. She is the only one in our family with food allergies and has developed viral induced asthma. All of which can be an effect of these toxins.
Emily loves to help with feeding all of our animals. She loves to give the dog and cat their food each morning, help her sister feed the rabbits (her favorite part is scooping the food into the bowl) and watching the chickens peck at their favorite treat, mealworms. She loves to sing songs, build towers out of blocks and “cook”in her play kitchen.
Emily has tons of energy and keeps us all on our toes. She is also incredibly sweet and loving and badly wants to be one of the big kids.
  Emily’s favorite shows are Super Why, Daniel Tiger and Handy Manny which she has no problem finding on her tablet on Netflix all by herself. Mostly she likes to be out and about anywhere she can run free!

 

Meet Abigail

Fitzgerald_151101-0154-1

My name is Abigail I’m 8 years old and in third grade. when i grow up i want to be a dancer also I want to be a vet. What I’m looking forward to being home schooled is having to spend more time with my family when I’m done with my work. Also being able to travel to different places with my family like Arizona, Mexico and Florida. I also I have 11 chickens, 3 bunny’s, 1 dog, and 1cat. I’m very silly,funny. Also I have a baby sister a big brother and a mom a dad.  what I want to learn when I ‘m home schooled is to learn about the solar system, dwarf planets and the ocean.

 

Meet The Mom

Fitzgerald_160127-1941-1

I thought it would be a good exercise to give everybody a chance to introduce themselves to you all. The kids are excited to share with you!   

As you can see, there are not many photos that exist of only me. I love to explore new things. Until my oldest, Caleb, was born I worked as an EMT in Massachusetts. Later on I pursued a degree in Deaf Studies from Quinsigamond Community College. I don’t get much opportunity to use my ASL skills and as a consequence my skills are very rusty. I have a certificate in Photography from Boston University Center for Digital Imaging Arts and also spend some time at the New England Institute of Art. In the last few years I have also learned how to can food safely, sew, crochet and knit (but I dropped knitting as soon as I got the hang of crochet) and beading. I also make many of our household cleaners and shower products.

I love being a stay-at-home mom and exploring the world with my family. We’ve been through a lot in the last few years learning how to deal with food allergies, lead poisoning, Lyme Disease, mold toxicity and the physical, mental and emotional effects all of these things, especially when occurring in such a short amount of time, have on people.

I’m also love animals and nature. We currently have a cat and a dog as well as 3 bunnies (at 1 point we had 35!) and chickens.

I want to teach my kids by living life. I, myself, am a hands on learner. I learn by doing and experiencing. I want to teach them what they need to know to be successful adults in whatever dreams they want to pursue. Not only academically but with real life skills. I feel like there are too many adults and soon to be adults entering the world not having basic life skills necessary to function in day to day life. I feel like the decision to homeschool my children will make this possible and as a family we can achieve amazing things.

My dream is to spend a year or 2 (or more?) traveling the country (I’d love to say the world but flying terrifies me!) I’ll have to work on that one) and learning on the road. I want my kids to not just read about amazing places in books and see them on TV, I want them to experience these wonders and really appreciate them.

If When we are lucky enough to make this a reality there may come a time when we decide, you know what? We want to settle down. I feel like we’d have a better understand of the country and really know where a comfortable spot for us to live would be, because we’ll have been there.

We’d like to buy a nice plot of land ( I can see it in my mind) acres upon acres (maybe 20 acres?) With a view of the mountains and a pond where we can explore. We want to learn to live sustainably, grow our own food and raise animals (I’m having trouble with the meat thing, I love to eat meat, but I don’t know how I’d handle raising my dinner, I tend to get attached). We love the idea of off grid living in a small house and collecting memories, not things. I want to teach my kids that things are just that, things. People and experiences are more important than material possessions).

I dream of a rescue for livestock where they can be safe and happy. Living off the land, growing our own food (well, most of it anyway) and appreciating the little things in life.