Meet the Animals

 

We can’t forget about our furry and feathered friends!

Say Hello to Bay:

Fitzgerald_151104-0779-1
Bay is our crazy and loving 3 year old lab/hound mix. We adopted her (or rather she adopted us) from the Sterling Animal Shelter in December of 2012 when she was just 10 weeks old. She came up with her litter mates from a high kill shelter in Tennessee. I was a volunteer there at the time and I instantly fell in love with the whole litter. They were all so calm, not scared or shy, but they didn’t jump at the fences like many of the dogs you see in shelters. I walked into their cages after they had been taken in and bathed, sat down on the floor and they all instantly all found a spot on the floor around me and snuggled up. The next day, we took Bay home. She is our love and I call her my true 3rd born. She loves people and other dogs. She only barks when daddy comes home or when she thinks daddy is home, sometimes she gets it wrong.
Gypsy the Queen of the Neighborhood

Fitzgerald_151120-0665-1
Gypsy runs the neighborhood. She loves to visit the neighbors and collect food. One neighbor in particular is quite fond of her despite the fact that she lets him know her displeasure if he dares feed or pet another cat before her! Even the dog know’s she’s the boss. The only ones that outrank her are the chickens. They taught her the first summer not to mess with them, after all, there’s more of them than her.. But don’t let the spats between her and Bay fool you, they like to snuggle when they think no one is looking..
Meet the Chickens
We currently have 11 hens in our flock. This summer a predator broke into our coop and took 3 of them (Our most snuggly black Cochin, Gretchen, another Silkie from my aunt, Mr’s Kravitz and . This fall a raccoon got in before we shut the coop for the night and got our beloved white Cochin, Potato. We also lost our only new chicken from last year when it was discovered she was in fact a he and needed to be rehomed as we are not allowed roosters in our city. 
 

Fitzgerald_121022-0002-1

My name is Watermelon. I am a 5 year old Ameraucana. I love to peck the ground and snuggle in the soft dirt under the rabbit hutch.

Fitzgerald_121031-0011-1

This is Thunder one of (2) 5 year old Anconas. You can tell her from her sister because she has less white on her.

Fitzgerald_151205-0192-1
Here is Thunder with her sister Lightning. Lightning likes to roost in high places. If you sit still long enough, she will find a nice spot on your head.

Fitzgerald_140802-0136-1

Meet Sparkles. She is a 3 year old red Sexlink. She is very outgoing and is always the first to eat mealworms right out of your hand.

Fitzgerald_140802-0167-1
This is Eagle. Our other 5 year old Americauna. She also eats easily out of your hand, especially if you have mealworms!

Fitzgerald_160204-2160-1

This is our Silkie, Tabitha. We’re not quite sure how old she is. She came from a family member with 4 other hens. She is the only one left from that flock. We’ve had her about 4 or 5 years.  She is also our smallest hen and she lays small white eggs.

Fitzgerald_150831-0846-1

Meet Princess. She is one of 3 black Jersey Giants we started with 5 years ago. Our local pizza guy wanted some chickens to start with so we agreed to sell him one of them with a warning that she would be unhappy all alone. Before the week was up, he took one of her sisters too so she would have company. THis is not the best photo of her, she was molting at the time so was a bit naked before the cooler weather hit.

Fitzgerald_151104-0867-1

I couldn’t resist showing you a photo of our handsome rooster, Popcorn. We had no idea until he started crowing. Looking back he was very protective of the girls. Never aggressive, but he would always roost up high and watch over the girls when I came in the coop to give them a treat. We found him a good home with other animals the very next town over and we hope he is happy there.

Say Hello to Our 3 Bunnies
 
At 1 point we had as many as 35. That was not intentional nor due to any fault of our own. The bunnies started as my older 2,Caleb and Abigail’s 4-H project. We had decided to breed a littler of American Fuzzy Lops. Not long after we bred, we received a call from someone desperate to rehome her 4 bunnies as it turned out her daughter was highly allergic. She told me that they had been sharing a cage but had been separated for over a month for fighting. Well, She brought over 3 of them: 2 does and a buck and We put them in our spacious hutches. About a week later we had to bring the does in as they were pulling fur and nesting… Within a few days of each other our American Fuzzy Lop and the 2 foster does gave birth to litters of 7, 5 & 5.. Add that to all of our Holland Lops, Mini lops, French Lops and American Fuzzy Lops (we like floppy ears) and 1 Netherland Dwarf, we had a lot of bunnies.
Fitzgerald_151104-0873-1
Meet Buster. He is a handsome Ruby Eyed White (REW) Netherland Dwarf buck.
Fitzgerald_160204-2167-1
Snowball is the bunny that started it all! He is our 5 year old frosted pearl Holland Lop Buck. He loves attention and hopping around in the yard in his protective fence. He was a special gift from Santa for Abigail when she was 3.
Marshmallow is our beautiful Blue Eyed White (BEW) Mini Lop doe. A big, snuggly puddle of fur. Marshmallow lives up to her name.

Meet Abigail

Fitzgerald_151101-0154-1

My name is Abigail I’m 8 years old and in third grade. when i grow up i want to be a dancer also I want to be a vet. What I’m looking forward to being home schooled is having to spend more time with my family when I’m done with my work. Also being able to travel to different places with my family like Arizona, Mexico and Florida. I also I have 11 chickens, 3 bunny’s, 1 dog, and 1cat. I’m very silly,funny. Also I have a baby sister a big brother and a mom a dad.  what I want to learn when I ‘m home schooled is to learn about the solar system, dwarf planets and the ocean.

 

Meet The Mom

Fitzgerald_160127-1941-1

I thought it would be a good exercise to give everybody a chance to introduce themselves to you all. The kids are excited to share with you!   

As you can see, there are not many photos that exist of only me. I love to explore new things. Until my oldest, Caleb, was born I worked as an EMT in Massachusetts. Later on I pursued a degree in Deaf Studies from Quinsigamond Community College. I don’t get much opportunity to use my ASL skills and as a consequence my skills are very rusty. I have a certificate in Photography from Boston University Center for Digital Imaging Arts and also spend some time at the New England Institute of Art. In the last few years I have also learned how to can food safely, sew, crochet and knit (but I dropped knitting as soon as I got the hang of crochet) and beading. I also make many of our household cleaners and shower products.

I love being a stay-at-home mom and exploring the world with my family. We’ve been through a lot in the last few years learning how to deal with food allergies, lead poisoning, Lyme Disease, mold toxicity and the physical, mental and emotional effects all of these things, especially when occurring in such a short amount of time, have on people.

I’m also love animals and nature. We currently have a cat and a dog as well as 3 bunnies (at 1 point we had 35!) and chickens.

I want to teach my kids by living life. I, myself, am a hands on learner. I learn by doing and experiencing. I want to teach them what they need to know to be successful adults in whatever dreams they want to pursue. Not only academically but with real life skills. I feel like there are too many adults and soon to be adults entering the world not having basic life skills necessary to function in day to day life. I feel like the decision to homeschool my children will make this possible and as a family we can achieve amazing things.

My dream is to spend a year or 2 (or more?) traveling the country (I’d love to say the world but flying terrifies me!) I’ll have to work on that one) and learning on the road. I want my kids to not just read about amazing places in books and see them on TV, I want them to experience these wonders and really appreciate them.

If When we are lucky enough to make this a reality there may come a time when we decide, you know what? We want to settle down. I feel like we’d have a better understand of the country and really know where a comfortable spot for us to live would be, because we’ll have been there.

We’d like to buy a nice plot of land ( I can see it in my mind) acres upon acres (maybe 20 acres?) With a view of the mountains and a pond where we can explore. We want to learn to live sustainably, grow our own food and raise animals (I’m having trouble with the meat thing, I love to eat meat, but I don’t know how I’d handle raising my dinner, I tend to get attached). We love the idea of off grid living in a small house and collecting memories, not things. I want to teach my kids that things are just that, things. People and experiences are more important than material possessions).

I dream of a rescue for livestock where they can be safe and happy. Living off the land, growing our own food (well, most of it anyway) and appreciating the little things in life.